Region 1- Ilocos Region

Region 1, also known as the Ilocos Region, is located in the northwest of Luzon. It borders to the east the regions of the Cordillera Administrative Region and Cagayan Valley, and to the south of the Central Luzon. Located on its west is the South China Sea. The region is composed of four provinces, namely: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan. Its regional center is San Fernando City, La Union. Ilocos is a region in the Philippines, encompassing the northwestern coast of Luzon island. It’s known for its historic sites, beaches and the well-preserved Spanish colonial city of Vigan. Dating from the 16th century, Vigan’s Mestizo district is characterized by cobblestone streets and mansions with wrought-iron balconies. Farther north, Laoag City is a jumping-off point for the huge La Paz Sand Dunes. Region 1 or the Ilocos Region is made out of four regions and a city—Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, and Dagupan City. Majority of the population speaks Ilocano, the third largest spoken language in the Philippines, although a significant number also speak Pangasinense.

The region has a coast and sloping extents that are prone to typhoon in the wet months, however devastatingly hot during the dry season. This is the setting of Ilocano food. It’s salty because of the closeness to the ocean. There is even a whole territory named after asin (salt) in Pangasinan. Fish is preserved by drying, and of course, reduced into a paste or sauce by fermentation. Region 1 ( ilocos region) has 4 provinces, 9 cities, 116 municipalities, and 3, 265 barangays. Provinces: Ilocos norte, capital is Laoagan, ilocos sur,  Capital is Vigan city, La union Capital is San Fernando city, Pangasinan, Capital Lingayen. Cities: Batac City, Laoag City, Candon City, Vigan City, San Fernando City, Alaminos City, Dagupan City, San carlos City, Urdaneta City.