Region III-Central Luzon

Central Luzon or known as Region III, was created to organize the 7 provinces of the vast central plain of the island of Luzon (the largest island), for administrative convinience. The region contains the largest in the country and produces most of the country’s rice supply, earning itself the nickname “Rice Granary of the Philippines”. Its provinces are Aurora the capital is Baler, Bataan the capital is Balanga city, Bulacan the capital is Malolos city, Nueva Ecija Palayan city, Pampanga San Fernando city, Tarlac the capital is Tarlac city, and Zambales the capital is Iba. The cities that make up and contribute to Central Luzon’s economy are: Balanga City, Malolos City, Mecauayan City, San Jose del Monte City, Cabanatuan City, Gapan City, Munoz City, Palayan City, Angeles City, Mabalacat City, San Fernando City, Tarlac City, Olongapo City, San Jose City.

Central Luzon is a combination of towering mountains, extinct and active volcanoes, lush, verdant farmlands, and natural sea harbors. It is one of the leading growth regions in the Philippines, strategically located at the heart of Asia. Region III lies between Manila and Northern Luzon.  It includes all land area north of Manila Bay from the tip of Bataan peninsula on the west, and all the lands north of the Caraballo mountains on the east. It is the longest contiguous area of lowlands, and is otherwise known as the Central Plains of Luzon.The history of Central Luzon also has its share of colorful history. Malolos, Bulacan was the place where the first constitution of an independent Philippines was promulgated on January 21, 1899. Tarlac town became the seat of the Philippine government for one month in March 1899, when Pres. Aguinaldo left Bulacan to escape approaching US forces.